#ELLGE2015 Tower Hamlets: what you need to know

NOTE: This historic post contains media that may no longer work as intended due to an external service being closed down.

The Tower Hamlets results are expected to be declared at 5am tomorrow morning.

The 74 Tower Hamlets polling stations opened at 7am today and will remain open until 10pm.

In Bethnal Green and Bow, incumbent MP Rushanara Ali of the Labour Party was elected with a majority of more than 20 per cent in 2010. However, there are signs of a mounting challenge from the Greens, and the Liberal Democrats will be hoping to improve on their strong second-place finish in the last general election.

Labour has traditionally been the favoured party in Poplar and Limehouse. MP Jim Fitzpatrick is gunning for re-election and faces a new slate of opponents, including the Conservative Party’s Chris Wilford, who ran for Tower Hamlets mayor last year against former mayor Lutfur Rahman.

The recent furore over Rahman’s conviction for fraud has shaken the community and could potentially have an impact on polling day.

Both Tower Hamlets constituencies are considered safe Labour seats.

If you’re a first-time voter, or have simply forgotten how to do it, it could be worth brushing up on your polling dos and don’ts.

For more on Tower Hamlets constituencies, read our series of constituency profiles:

For updates from the count, follow our correspondent who will be at The ExCel Centre in Tower Hamlets through the night:

Katharina Schöffmann

Additional reporting by Katharina Schöffmann.

Leave a Reply