ELL MPs will vote no to Brexit

Will these still hang side by side in a few months? Pic: Dave Kellam (Creative Comms)

Will these flags still hang side by side in a few months? Pic: Dave Kellam (Creative Comms)

All ten MPs in Croydon, Lewisham, Tower Hamlets and Hackney are against the UK leaving the EU.

The majority of these boroughs’ MPs are Labour members, and party leader Jeremy Corbyn has already expressed his support for staying in the EU. 

Chris Philp, Conservative MP for Croydon South, one of two Tory members in the ELL boroughs, was the last to declare. In a statement to Eastlondonlines he said: “There is still a lot of reform needed in the EU, but the new deal is a step in the right direction. I have already mentioned removing the UK from “ever closer union” and protection for the City of London.”

The Labour MPs Diane Abbot, Meg Hiller, Jim Fitzpatrick, Rushanara Ali, Vicky Foxcroft, Jim Dowd, Heidi Alexander and Steve Reed are toeing the party line.

Diane Abbot, MP for Hackney North & Stoke Newington, said: “We need to be clear that in the current political context leaving the EU places our human rights at real risk because many of those who advocate British exit also want to abandon the European Convention.”

Their backing comes after a YouGov study found that Corbyn has more support from his own party than he previously did, with 55 per cent of Labour members approving his leadership.

The EU referendum has created a divide across the political spectrum; both Labour and Conservatives are finding themselves disagreeing with each other.

It is in the Conservative party that the divide seems more pronounced. Despite David Cameron’s pledge for a reformed union, Mayor London Boris Johnson has said that he believes the UK should leave. His decision to back “Brexit” caused a massive drop in the pound’s value almost immediately after his comments.

Johnson’s view seems to reflect the general opinion of Conservative MPs in London – mayoral candidate Zac Goldsmith has also voiced his support to leave. Croydon Central Gavin Barwell is one of the few Tory MPs in London wishing to stay in the EU. In his blog post he wrote: “When it comes to it, I know what I think is best for Britain. Despite the improvements David Cameron has negotiated, the EU will still be far from perfect. The world wouldn’t end if we left it. But I believe that we will be more prosperous, more secure and have more influence in the world if we remain in the EU.”

The vote on Britain’s EU membership will take place on June 23.


Chris Phip (Conservative, Croydon South) – Stay

Gavin Barwell (Conservative, Croydon Central) – Stay

Steve Reed (Labour, Croydon North) – Stay


Heidi Alexander (Labour, Lewisham East) – Stay

Jim Dowd (Labour, Lewisham West & Penge) – Stay

Vicky Foxcroft (Labour, Lewisham Deptford) – Stay

Tower Hamlets:

Rushanara Ali (Labour, Bethnal Green & Bow) – Stay

Jim Fitzpatrick (Labour, Poplar & Limehouse) – Stay


Diane Abbott (Labour, Hackney North & Stoke Newington) – Stay

Meg Hillier (Labour, Hackney South & Shoreditch) – Stay

Leave a Reply